IN_TENTS_IFY | week 13

In working with Glen this week, I have made a few changes to my project and its concept. The images that will be projected on to the walls of the tent will no longer be a tick or a cross, there will instead be 3 buttons with 3 different kinds of substances and 3 different videos will appear when they are pressed.

When I initially had the idea for this project, the ‘War on Music Festivals’ was a hot topic as a result of the reelection of Gladys Berejiklian as the Premiere of NSW. There have been regulation changes in terms of the amount of security and police that are required at music festivals due to the number of attendee deaths that have recently occurred, which has resulted in many smaller events to have ceased running due to overwhelming costs. The festivals and event organisers have taken the brunt of the backlash and consequences of these tragic deaths, whereas I do not believe the festivals themselves are to blame. Unregulated drug use is a major persecutor.

With the changes I am making to this project I am hoping to more so communicate the idea that certain illegal drugs are not life-threatening or harmful when consumed safely. The substances I have chosen are:

  • Cannabis
  • MDMA
  • LSD/Psilocybin Mushrooms

Many people use substances at festivals to heighten their experience, in terms of the music as well as the overall environment. In the videos projected onto the tent, I intend to simulate the feeling of being affected by these substances within a festival environment. My intention in doing this is to show the misconception around the danger status of these drugs, as depicted by their legal status. The videos will have a duration of approximately 5 seconds, and be accompanied by royalty free music.

I have sketched a few ideas of what the videos will incorporate.

 

I am much more satisfied with my project with the implementation of these changes, both aesthetically and conceptually. I feel like the viewer experience will also be heightened, and the message will be communicated more clearly.

Leave a comment